Court seals MOA election results

IMPHAL, April 4: The Manipur High Court has withheld the announcement of voting results for the Manipur Olympic Association (MOA) election which was held today at Khuman Lampak Sports complex.

The contestants for the post of President included former MLA Bijoy Koijam and current PHED minister Irengbam Hemochandra while the post for Treasurer is being contested by Parliamentary secretary, M Prithviraj.

The MOA registered under number 2740 of 1979 had conducted the election from 11.45 am today and concluded at around 1.45 pm . Voting was exercised by 55 association members out a total 57 and the voting was done by ballot system to elect 1 president, 6 vice-presidents, 1 secretary, 4 joint secretaries and 10 executive members.

It may be mentioned that there are 3 cases registered and judgments still pending against the MOA election at the Manipur High Court. They were filed by 3 sport associations from separate disciplines.

However, the judgment to allow election for the MOA was passed by Justice TNK of the Gauhati High court, Imphal bench on February 21,2013. Apart from the earlier order, another directive was passed by Chief Justice AM Sapre and Justice N Kotiswar yesterday to withhold the counting and the consecutive results. Following the directive from the Court, ballot boxes have been sealed up in the strong room of the Imphal Treasury.

Posted by Unknown on 03:06. Filed under . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for Court seals MOA election results

Leave comment


Courtesy:ISTV Imphal


2010 BlogNews Magazine. All Rights Reserved. - Designed by SimplexDesign