27 individuals conferred with Nat Youth Award

New Delhi, July 5: President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday conferred the National Youth Award 2011-12 on 27 individuals and a West Bengal-based organisation at a function held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi.  

The Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, Jitendra Singh and several other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

It is for the first time the National Youth awards have been given by the President of India.

National Youth Awards, instituted in the year 1985 are conferred on youth each year who have demonstrably excelled in different fields of youth development and social service.

The award carries a silver medal, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs 40,000 in case of individual awardee and Rs 2 lakh for any voluntary organisation.

The selected individuals are expected to possess leadership qualities and use them in carrying out voluntary activities in the field of youth development.

Selection of awardees is first made at state level and then at the national level.

At the national level, a screening committee headed by the joint secretary scrutinises the proposals recommended by the state government/UT administration at first.

These screened proposals are thereafter placed before the Central Selection Committee headed either by the Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports or Secretary, Youth Affairs that makes the final selection of youth awardees.

The Central Selection Committee may, at its discretion, consider on merits, individuals or youth organisations not recommended by a state government/UT, for the award.

List of National Youth Award Winners 2001-12:

M Ramulu (Andhra Pradesh), Aluwala Vishnu (Andhra Pradesh), Tilling Yam (Arunachal Pradesh), Pardeep Raj (physically challenged, Delhi), Chanchal Aggarwal (Delhi), Girish Kumar (Delhi), Malisa Zemira Simoes (Goa), Suman (Haryana), Ruchi Kaushik (Haryana), Ashok Kumar (Haryana), Gurmeet Kaur (Himachal Pradesh), Besar Dass Harnot (Himachal Pradesh), Kiran Kumar Sharma (Jammu and Kashmir), Lakshminarayana Kajegadde (Karnataka), B Hanumanthappa (Karnataka), Fasal Varis (Kerala), Tara Usman Mulla (Maharashtra), Jagdale Shantanu Ramdas (Maharashtra), Soraishanm Taruni Devi (Manipur), Kitboklang Nongphlang (Meghalaya), M Tejeswar (Odisha), Gangadhar Behara (Odisha), Dhyanananda Panda (Odisha), Khusmeet Kaur Bains (Punjab), Gurnam Singh Sidhu (Punjab), Ladu Lal Jat (Rajasthan), Gulab Chand Salvi (Rajashtan).

Name of the Organisation: Bhavishya Educational and Charitable Society, West Bengal.

Posted by Unknown on 10:19. Filed under . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for 27 individuals conferred with Nat Youth Award

Leave comment


Courtesy:ISTV Imphal


2010 BlogNews Magazine. All Rights Reserved. - Designed by SimplexDesign