BJP forms 20 panels for LS polls

New Delhi, July 20: Narendra Modi's stamp was written all over on Friday as BJP announced its Election Campaign Committee for 2014 polls including top leaders Murli Manohar Joshi, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley who will work under him.

The 12-member Committee to which Modi was appointed as chairperson in Goa last month will also have other senior leaders including M Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, besides Chief Ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh), Raman Singh (Chhattisgarh) and Manohar Parrikar (Goa).

This committee will be assisted by 20 sub-committees which will concentrate on various aspects of electioneering including rallies, publicity, manifesto, reaching out to the youth through social media, courting first time voters, crowd sourcing, and preparing a vision document of its programmes.

"All the sub-committees will be steered under the leadership of Narendra Modi... The party has given Modi the responsibility of 2014 elections... Under his leadership the whole campaign will move forward," BJP General Secretary Ananth Kumar said in New Delhi on Friday.

The Election Campaign Committee and the sub-committees will work under the overall guidance of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, L K Advani and party President Rajnath Singh, he added.

Gadkari has been asked to pay special attention to Delhi in the forthcoming Assembly elections.

Navjot Singh Sidhu, Amritsar MP, will assist Gadkari.

The Campaign Committee and the sub-committees have been formed by Modi and Rajnath Singh in consultation with other senior leaders.

Murli Manohar Joshi has been appointed as head of the manifesto committee which will have Jaswant Singh, Yashwant Sinha, former Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, Sushil Kumar Modi, Shahnawaz Hussain and V K Malhotra, among others, as members.

A vision document will also be released with the manifesto. To be prepared under the guidance of Gadkari, with Vinay Sahasrabuddhe as a member, the document will highlight the achievements of erstwhile NDA government.

The publicity for the party- including in electronic and print media, outdoor campaign- will be handled by Swaraj and Jaitley who will be helped by General Secretary Amit Shah and Sudanshu Trivedi.

Among the innovative efforts at wooing voters is BJP's special focus on the emerging population- the first time and new voters who form 20 percent of the electorate. Amit Shah, Poonam Mahajan, Sidhu and Trivendra Rawat will handle this.

BJP plans to organise over 100 rallies, starting from August, in the run-up to the elections. These rallies will be planned and executed by Ananth Kumar and general secretary Varun Gandhi.

The party's attempts to mobilise support among different communities like weavers, farmers, peasants and labourers, fishermen and so on through targeted conferences will be organised by general secretary Murlidhar Rao. Vinay Katiyar, Shyam Jaju, and Vijay Sonkar Shastri will assist him.

BJP will reach out to the professionals- doctors, CAs, engineers and so on- through a team comprising of Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Prakash Javadekar and others.

Workshops for booth level party workers will be organised by Thawar Chand Gehlot, J P Nadda, Purushottam Rupala among others.

Crowd sourcing through feedback from people about party manifesto, slogans, vision document and so will be handled by general secretary Dharmendra Pradhan and Rameshwar Chaurasia.

Other sub-committees include a team for traditional campaign through plays and folk songs which will comprise of Smriti Irani, Captain Abhimanyu and Vani Tripathi.

Unorganised workers and nationalist organisations-most of whom are part of the Sangh Parivar- will be contacted through a special programme by a team headed by Gadkari.

Uma Bharati, C P Thakur, J K Jain, Kalraj Mishra, Kiran Maheshwari and Mridula Sinha are part of this team.

Strengthening of party's presence at the booth level will be the responsibility of general secretary (organisation) Ramlal who will be assisted by V Satish and Saudan Singh, both Secretary (organisation).

The party will also woo young and urban voters through social media like Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, etc. BJP's IT and communications cell will be involved in this under the leadership of Piyush Goyal.

Balbir Punj, Prabhat Jha, Vinay Sahasrabuddhe and Sudha Malleya will be involved in preparation of party literature including pamphlets and booklets.

BJP will reach out to the North East states through various programmes which will be prepared by S S Ahluwalia, Tapir Gao, Kiren Rijuju and Padmanabh Acharya.

The travel and campaign programmes of top leaders will be finalised by Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Anil Jain and Arun Singh.

Other committees include a team for dealing with legal and Election Commission issues and mass campaign committee.

Posted by Unknown on 12:00. Filed under . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for BJP forms 20 panels for LS polls

Leave comment


Courtesy:ISTV Imphal


2010 BlogNews Magazine. All Rights Reserved. - Designed by SimplexDesign