Bye-elections for 4 Lok Sabha and 5 Assembly seats in four states ended

New Delhi, June 3: Bye-elections for four Lok Sabha and five Assembly seats in four states went off peacefully today, results of which to be announced on June 5.

The highest voter turnout of 66 per cent was recorded in Howrah Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, followed by around 45 per cent polling in Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat in Bihar.

In Gujarat, the by-polls are being held for two Lok Sabha seats - Porbandar and Banaskantha, and four Assembly seats.

While Porbandar recorded 30 per cent polling, the turnout in Banaskantha was over 36 per cent.

The bye-elections in BJP-ruled Gujarat are being viewed as a litmus test for opposition Congress which had won all the six seats in last elections.

Banaskantha Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after the death of Congress MP Mukesh Gadhvi.

In Porbandar, the elections are being held to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Vitthal Radadiya, who hit the headlines for pulling a gun at a toll booth attendant.

Radadiya had quit Congress in February and crossed over to BJP, which has fielded him for the Lok Sabha bypolls.

In West Bengal, voting was held for Howrah Lok Sabha seat where bye-election was necessitated by the death of Trinamool Congress MP Ambika Banerjee.

Being held in the aftermath of the Saradha chitfund scam which has defrauded thousands of investors, the election assumes significance as it comes just ahead of panchayat elections in the state.

The seat is witnessing a triangular contest among TMC, Congress and CPI(M) in a field of 13 candidates.

Ruling Trinamool Congress has fielded former India football captain Prasun Banerjee, while Congress has given a chance to lawyer Sanatan Mukherjee and CPI(M) to Sridip Bhattacherjee, a former party district secretary.

Posted by Unknown on 10:18. Filed under . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for Bye-elections for 4 Lok Sabha and 5 Assembly seats in four states ended

Leave comment


Courtesy:ISTV Imphal


2010 BlogNews Magazine. All Rights Reserved. - Designed by SimplexDesign