Pak lawmakers to elect new PM on June 5

Islamabad, May 28: The formal election of Pakistan's new Prime Minister by members of the National Assembly will be held on 5th June, officials said on Monday.

PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif is set to become the Premier for an unprecedented third term.

PML-N officials said his election to the post will be a mere formality as the party has the required numbers in the 342-member National Assembly or lower house of Parliament.

The first session of the new National Assembly will be convened on 1st June. Soon after the House convenes, the newly elected members will take oath.

Nomination papers for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly will be submitted on 2nd June and elections will be held the next day. Nomination papers for the post of Prime Minister will be submitted on 4th June and the election will be held the following day.

The PML-N won 126 of the 272 directly elected seats in the National Assembly in the 11th May general elections. Eighteen independent candidates recently joined the party, taking its tally of directly elected seats to 144.

The PML-N will also be allocated 37 reserved seats for women and non-Muslims. This will give it 181 seats in the 342-member House, or 10 seats more than the 171 required for a simple majority.

The party's strength in the National Assembly is set to increase further as several parties including the PML-F, National People's Party and National Party are expected to enter into an alliance with it.

However, the PML-N's dream of getting Sharif elected unopposed as the new Prime Minister has been shattered as Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf has announced it will field veteran politician Javed Hashmi for the post.

This is more a symbolic gesture rooted in the Tehrik-e-Insaf's opposition to the PML-N. Hashmi is a former PML-N leader who quit the party and joined the Tehrik-e-Insaf last year.

Posted by Unknown on 12:15. Filed under . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for Pak lawmakers to elect new PM on June 5

Leave comment


Courtesy:ISTV Imphal


2010 BlogNews Magazine. All Rights Reserved. - Designed by SimplexDesign