KXIP crush Mumbai by 50 runs

Dharmasala, May 18: Kings XI Punjab produced an all-round show as they ended their Pepsi Indian Premier League campaign on a winning note with a 50-run humiliation of Mumbai Indians in Dharamsala today.

Riding on fine half centuries from Azhar Mahmood (80) and Shaun Marsh (63), Punjab pocted a big total of 183 for four after being put in to bat and then shot Mumbai out for 133 in 19.1 overs at the picturesque HPCA Stadium.

Punjab ended the tournament with 16 points from 16 matches while the outcome of today's match did not make much of a difference to Mumbai, except for the fact that their confidence has been dented ahead of the knock-out stage.

Despite the loss, Mumbai, who ended the league stage on 22 points from 16 matches, would still play against Chennai Super Kings in the Qualifier 1 in New Delhi on May 21 as their top-2 finish had already been secured before this match.

Chasing a big target of 184, Mumbai never had a substantial partnership, the biggest being the 39-run stand between captain Rohit Sharma (25) and Kieron Pollard (22) for the sixth wicket. Ambati Rayudu top-scored with a 22-ball 26.

All the top-order batsmen except for opener Glenn Maxwell (0) and Dinesh Karthik (0) got the starts but could not convert them to big scores.

For Punjab, Piyush Chawla and Sandeep Sharma grabbed two wickets apiece while Praveen Kumar and Parvinder Awana took a wicket each.

Interestingly, Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist, who was playing his last IPL match today, got a wicket, the only wicket in his illustrious career.

Mumbai needed 51 runs from the last over and it was a mere formality.

To the surprise of everybody in the stadium, Gilchrist stepped up to bowl the last over and got Harbhajan Singh's wicket from the first ball.

Gilchrist bowled an innocuous off-spinner and Harbhajan slogged one-handed and the ball went straight to Gurkeerat Singh's hand at long-on.

The Teams:

Kings XI Punjab:

Adam Gilchrist (capt & wk), Shaun Marsh, Mandeep Singh, Azhar Mahmood, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Gurkeerat Singh, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Parvinder Awana, Sandeep Sharma.

Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Aditya Tare, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Harbhajan Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Lasith Malinga, Rishi Dhawan.

Posted by Unknown on 02:55. Filed under , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for KXIP crush Mumbai by 50 runs

Leave comment


Courtesy:ISTV Imphal


2010 BlogNews Magazine. All Rights Reserved. - Designed by SimplexDesign